Notices
2005-2009 S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2005-2009 S197's

Are SHR Louvers illegal?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2009, 01:41 PM
sarcastik
1st Gear Member

Default Are SHR Louvers illegal?

I got purchased my stang last friday and within 2 days I went ahead and purchased the SHR side louvers and I also went ahead and bout the black rear louvers for the rear window. I was waiting for in the mail and I decided to research shops that could install them for me because I'm not too technical with that sort of thing and I didn't want to have wait to do that once they were already at my door. Anyway, I sent an email out and this is the response I got:

"Hi, I called the company to make sure that those windows are FMVSS and DOT approved, Unfortunately they are not. Due to California State Regulations we will not be able to install this in your Mustang. We are AGRSS registered shop and will only install Glass in compliance with FMVSS and California State regulations. Regards Sam E."

Anyone heard of this before?
Old 03-19-2009, 03:00 PM
Legion5
5th Gear Member

It's a law that geeky shop owners care a billion times more about than cops.
Old 03-19-2009, 03:15 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

In other words, find a shop that'll install them. If you look around, you'll see plenty of Stangs (and other cars) breaking that so-called law.
Old 03-19-2009, 03:56 PM
Bails
2nd Gear Member

I highly doubt a cop will pull you over for having SHR louvers. I'm not even sure cops will know they are illegal, they'll be to busy admiring how awesome they look to care anyways.
Old 03-19-2009, 04:15 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Apparently you guys don't understand what DOT means in terms of "safety" i put it in quotes because DOT approved plastic and glass has to meet or exceed certain federal regulations for impact strenght and breakage charateristics. Safety is a relative term because you can still get injured from glass and or plastic that is DOT approved and broken