Notices
2005-2009 S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2005-2009 S197's

2 questions, installing scoop+paint

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 09:18 PM
geckoman1220
2nd Gear Member

Default 2 questions, installing scoop+paint

1. I have a BSM super stripe on my hood (see sig) and just got a stack racing hood scoop in the mail. Is is okay to just install the scoop on top of the vinyl? the stripe has been on for 1 year and 2 months if that makes a difference.

2. I need to paint the scoop to match the matte black stripe. I picked up some sandpaper, primer, and semi-gloss black. I know by now everyone is thinking, " rattle can job come out like $h17." I'm no novice to painting with rattle cans on account that i build model cars. Im just wondering about how it will hold up? if it doesn't work, then ill strip the paint off and do hot rod flat black. Does anyone have experience with rattle can blacks?

-thanks everyone for the help!
Old 02-10-2010, 11:08 PM
0NF1R
5th Gear Member

wouldnt u want to paint if flat black as well to match your stripes?....if its gloss, it will be the only thing gloss black on your car and look sore-thumbish....

yes its okay to install them over the matte stripe....no exp with rattle cans though :-)
Old 02-10-2010, 11:46 PM
chronos
3rd Gear Member

I agree flat may be a better choice than satin finish. Satin (depending on manufacturer) can be a bit more glossy than flat, and may not match the stripes. On the durability of the rattle can paint, it's OK. I have done outside trim parts on older cars with Rustoleum rattle cans and it has lasted years with no problems. Of you do good prep work like you say you know how to do, them you'll be just fine. Just don't use the 99 cent paint cans. Those are for cheap stuff.
Old 02-11-2010, 12:02 AM
Deadbeat
2nd Gear Member

Is there a product out there that protects flat blacks from the sun? Preferably nothing that makes it shiny.
Old 02-11-2010, 12:06 AM
chronos
3rd Gear Member