Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom Sub Enclosure Install w/Pics

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2006, 12:02 AM
sowaxeman
Retired Moderator

Default Custom Sub Enclosure Install w/Pics

I know the custom sub topic has been debated plenty in here, but I installed my MTX Thunderform tonight and decided to take a couple detail pics beyond what they show in the manual. First let me say that I have been doing this for 15+ years, and it seems the newer the cars get, the bigger the pain in the *** it is route wires [:@] The job took me a total of 3.5 hours - but I am very **** and took my time so to not scratch my pride and joy!! I spent 30-60 minutes of that figuring out the firewall penetration. If I had to do it again I could probably knock it out in 2 or less.

The Thunderform comes with ALL the cables and accessories you'll need for the job

First you have to remove the seat bottom. The mtx manual tells you how, but I snapped a couple pics so you can see exactly where the clips are located. You don't have to muscle it out like in the fox cars, just use a finger to press in the retainer clip and pull up:

Look about 12" from each end and you can see the clips (not quite centered under each seat area):

Close up of clip:

Next you pull out the main carpet/spare tire board, and pull off the door kick panel on the passenger side:

Route the battery cable along the factory wire bundle, up under the seat cushion and along the kick panel area, and up behind the lower kick panel (passenger side) where the fuse box is. I found that the easiest place to penetrate the firewall was by drilling a hole just to the left of the grommet where the antenna cable (orange) penetrates. This part requires a bit of flexibility and patience: