Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A few questions about working on the Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2006, 11:15 AM
Big Red
2nd Gear Member

Default A few questions about working on the Mustang

Ok this is going to sound like a total n00bler question but Ive only ever worked on my two FWD Focus and my Brother in Law's 4WD Ram so I have no experience working on a rear wheel drive car and I wanted to ask this before I kill my car:

Can I jack up just the rear end of the car? Im worried that since there is no parking brake or transmission on the front wheels to hold them steady that if I jack up the rear end the front wheels will roll forward and the car will fall down. I have splash guards coming in the mail and when I get em I wanna just jack up the rear end, take the wheels off and slap those suckers into the wheel well, or am I going to have to jack it up from the side, one side at a time? Also, what is a good place to put the jack on this car? any particularly good spot or just throw it on any open piece of frame I find? Ive only had the car like 3 weeks now and I havent gotten a chance to go under it yet thanks to crappy weather! [:@]

Eventually I want to try my hand at installing an aftermarket exhaust, I helped my bro in law do his on his truck, so I think I will be able to do my own, as well as a CAI, I probably wont be able to get it tuned cause I dont know of any performance shops around here but I should still see a good performance increase with those mods without a tune right? Anyways Im looking forward to making my Stang into a little DIY project, I just wish it wasnt also my daily driver in case I mess something up lol, I was told that mustang are very easy to work on for beginners, I hope this is true.
Old 03-14-2006, 11:26 AM
zanemoseley
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: A few questions about working on the Mustang