Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How many of you can "CLUTCHLESS SHIFT" in your GT's? Have you heard of this technique?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 01:42 PM
persistantthug
2nd Gear Member

Default How many of you can "CLUTCHLESS SHIFT" in your GT's? Have you heard of this technique?

A guy at work was telling me how its possible to change gears from 1 to 4 without even touching the clutch. I'm a noob when it comes to driving but I've never heard of such a thing in a Stick of any car much less a Mustang.

The basic gist of it as I understood was that if you take off the line and shift from 1 to 2 at the right RPM's, you can do so without hittin the clutch, and the same from 2 to 3, and 3 to 4, but not 4 to 5.

Can any of you talk about this, because I find this quite intriguing.

Can any of you talk about how this works, its time benefits and its potential dangers to the car?
Old 03-16-2006, 02:55 PM
351PONY
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: How many of you can "CLUTCHLESS SHIFT" in your GT's? Have you heard of this technique?

I had a friend growing up that heard this same thing. He ended up trashing his tranny doing this. So in a nutshell don't do it. [sm=badidea.gif]
Old 03-16-2006, 02:56 PM
Hufenstang
4th Gear Member

Default RE: How many of you can "CLUTCHLESS SHIFT" in your GT's? Have you heard of this technique?

im not sure how its done i know it has to be shifted all at the right rpms.. my dad used to do it in his 61 vette all the time
Old 03-16-2006, 02:57 PM
blackout
5th Gear Member

I've done it before but I just wanted to see if I could do it. I don't think it is too good for the car, so I stay away from it.
Old 03-16-2006, 03:00 PM
Tik_Tok
2nd Gear Member

It's how I usually drove my old 83 accord (my car before my 05 stang), it was easy as pie in that thing, it's also easy on F-350 diesel

I tried it 1/2 dozen times in my stang, and haven't been able to do it yet.