Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

UDP, Electric Waterpump + Alternator

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 02:58 AM
VnCist00
2nd Gear Member

Default UDP, Electric Waterpump + Alternator

Ive heard of all the jabbering about the UDP's and how it takes power away and all that jazz, well, i honestly do want my car to lbe as efficient as possible, as long as possible. So after doing some research i thought of getting a UDP and electric waterpump so that the power of my waterpump isnt thrown away into the UDP and the waterpump would work just as efficiently and effectively as it would without a UDP on my car. There is a Steeda UDP and water pump combo that i've been looking at. However i was also wondering to keep increasing efficiency, would a new radiator +/or alternator (reviewed and tested) be worth the extra gains in efficiency and stability for my car? Opinions? Experiences?

-Im still fairly new to this whole engine stuff, but im working on it, just trying to figure things out. thnx
Old 10-12-2006, 08:43 AM
MBDiagMan
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: UDP, Electric Waterpump + Alternator

High school physics teaches you that as with money, also with energy, you can't get something for nothing.

If you switch to an electric water pump, the energy must come from somewhere. SOooo, you say, it will come from the battery instead of the crankshaft. And that would be correct. Okay, now, where does the energy come from that charges the battery? It comes from the alternator. Okay, now, where does the energy come from that drives the alternator? It comes from the crankshaft.

SOooo... You would now require even MORE energy because of the loss of efficiency of the alternator AND the electric motor on the water pump.