Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2007 Front Suspension Thunking Noise

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2014, 03:38 PM
jodyh

my 01 makes the same noise but i contribute it to be a stiff suspension cause my camaros all had the same noise i had 5 of them ranging from 84 to 2010
Old 11-20-2014, 06:33 PM
HKarl

Default Thunking Noise

I have been chasing this problem in my car for two years and finally found it. Unbelievable, but it was the sway bar bushings. The bushings are solid (They don't have the slit to wrap around the bar like many bushings do). Just take the cap off the bushing. You'll see the tear in the bushing. When you put them on, they'll have to be slid on from the sway bar link end. GOOD LUCK... HKarl
Old 11-30-2014, 02:54 PM
pcfithian
1st Gear Member

I had replaced the struts/springs/strut mount as well as the lower control arms a few months ago on our 2006 GT convertible. A thunking noise recently appeared from the right front, so I replaced the sway bar links and tie rod ends.

The front end rides quietly now. I also checked the toe in with a string, and reset the right side a bit to match up with the left side.

Drives perfectly now.
Old 06-06-2016, 09:13 AM
The Cobra

Default 2005 to 2007 Mustang front end clunk

I bought a 2006 Mustang GT in 2015 with low km's. I noticed a clunk/ lumbering sound on small bumps ( mainly in the right front). It really surprised me that it could have this problem with only 47,000 km on it. Apparently it is very common on the 2005 to 2007 Mustangs. I believed it to be the upper strut mount. I replaced it with one from the dealer part number AD1044. The same noise was there. After more research and coming across a Ford bulletin, the only way to fix it is to put on a strut mount for a 2008 Mustang. The part number is AD1062. The car feels like new. Hopefully this helps out those who have been chasing this issue for some time.