Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rethinking my Loudmouths, reassure me

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 01:39 PM
squeek12

Default Rethinking my Loudmouths, reassure me

After reading a bunch of posts here and on mustangexhuast.com, I decided to go with SLP Loudmouths for my 2006 GT. At first, I loved them. I thought there were loud and mean and so much better than stock.

Now, after listening to them outside of the car a couple time in the last couple days, I'm not sure if they have the sound I was looking for. I'm not sure if I think the sound is mean or just loud. I want mean and loud. Anyway, I'm really a car noob and really don't know what a good sound is anyway. I compare it to when I first started drinking beer. I thought Miller Lite and Bud Light were the be all and end all of beer. Now I know that there are much better tasting and more high quality stuff out there. So maybe my LMs sound great, but I just haven't developed an ear for exhaust yet.

FWIW, I'm bone stock other than the LMs. Please reassure me that the LMs sound good, and I'm just a n00b!
Old 01-11-2007, 01:49 PM
hogpowr
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Rethinking my Loudmouths, reassure me

The loudmouths were my first choice too, great initial reports, and you save about 6 pounds of weight for each muffler. I got my off road h pipe before the loudmouths, and needless to say the rest is history. The stock exhaust just deeper and louder is awesome. No need for Loudmouths for me. Also when I first wanted the loudmouths they were $215 at lmperformance.com , now they are like $325, seems like alot of dough for a straight thru muffler.

If I were you I would consider aCAI, and tuner with either off-road h or x pipe next. You can listen to sound clips at brenspeed.com .(Great place to get CAI, Tuner, and Off-road pipe)This way you can have either stock or LM. Your choice. Sell what you dont like on Evil Bay.