Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2007 shelby vs 2006 saleen

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 01:01 PM
scoville99

Default 2007 shelby vs 2006 saleen

i am set to finalize a deal on a 2007 Shelby black w/white stripes for $57k..or i can get a 2006 Saleen for $45k(supercharched but not s281e)..is the handling on the saleen that much netter?? whats the better deal?..thanks..i am a newbie to the site, not to Ford, i have a 98 Cobra & had 3 GT's previously......
Old 01-23-2007, 01:07 PM
rattsj
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: 2007 shelby vs 2006 saleen

Get the shelby the potential is far greater than the Saleen. You can do some suspension work for not too much. The 4.6 can never do what that 5.4 can do. Go with the Shelby.
Old 01-23-2007, 01:11 PM
scoville99

I appreciate the input...i am getting this to be an every day driver, not a collectable, does that make a difference, I hear the ride of the Saleen is suppose to be soooo much better..is that true??
Old 01-23-2007, 01:26 PM
rattsj
2nd Gear Member

The ride is better but sooner or later you will do some mods and the GT500 is a far superior template for that than a GT with some add ons you can do yourself. Bottom line a complete suspension overhaul will cost you 1500 bucks. But it is impossible to get the 4.6 to compete with the potential of the 5.4 The 4.6 just cant do it. Also the S281sc is still a stock block if you ever want more power you will be limited by the internals of the engine. The 5.4 however is forged from the factory and the power is seriously undertuned. Wiht just a reflash those bad boys are throwing down 475 rwhp.
Bottom line mustangs are meant to be customized and sooner or later you will do little things to it to make it better. The GT500 will do things no other mustang can do without major overhauling.
Dude go with the GT500
Old 01-23-2007, 01:39 PM
UrS4
4th Gear Member