Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

aftermarket mods

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2007, 11:42 PM
AMBmustangGT
1st Gear Member

Default aftermarket mods

so since i'm fairly new to mustangs and am not entirely sure what i want to do w/ mine when i get it, i wanted to know some aftermarket mods i can do to add horsepower. i dont want to do anything big like a supercharger. lots of minimum stuff to hopefully get it around 315hp

since im not going to be getting a manuali think gears will be out of the question for me.

of course i know you have axleback exhausts (any 1 seem to give more power?)
alsox-pipes and shorty headers
cold air intakes (any one seem to give more power?)
the right wheel and tire combo will give you better grip
and i guess a high performance oil filter and royal purple in the diffs will help a little

any other stuff im missing? Anything at all, no matter how small the horsepower/torque/acceleration increase?

what about performance chips or engine tuners (hopefully they make some that allow you to stay on regular unleaded fuel, b/c my parents aren't gonna go for 93octane since they pay for most of the gas)

thanks for answering my questions, AMBmustangGT
Old 02-05-2007, 11:46 PM
HMUSN
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: aftermarket mods

who says you can't get gears?

and are you looking for 315 flywheel hp or 315 rwhp?

go with a full exhaust.. headers, mid pipe(x/hpipe/prochamber) and a catback.

as for cai i recommend a JLT

i only use mobile 1 for oil but royal purple is def. a good brand.

and a tuner would be a plus an xcal is my choice
Old 02-05-2007, 11:58 PM
AMBmustangGT
1st Gear Member

oh i know i can get gears, but if its the same as my bronco was that's $1400 installed. and if i did gears i'd also add a limited slip which is about another $400

your probably gonna slap me for this. but im not really sure what the dff in rwhp and flywheel hp is.