Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SSBC Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2007, 07:01 PM
danam
2nd Gear Member

Default SSBC Brakes

What do you guys hear about the SSBC brake kit for 05+ Mustang with 8 piston calipers and 14 inch rotors. Its $2570 powdercoated too. IT's either this or the Roush Kit. Roush is only 4 piston i believe.
Old 03-23-2007, 07:07 PM
CrazyAl
5th Gear Member

Default RE: SSBC Brakes

SSBC is pretty low quality from my past experiences with them, though I have no experience with this exact kit.

The Roush kit is made by Stoptech, who in my opinion make the finest brake kits out there for the S197. The amount of engineering they have done to deliver outstanding braking while still remaining compatible with the OEM ABS system is amazing. Most other aftermarket companies don't give ABS compatibility much of a thought.

The Roush kit is the same as Stoptech's standard big-brake kit for these cars and uses the ST-40 calipers. These are stiffer than just about everything on the market. If that isn't enough for you theydo make a larger kit oriented towards professional racing, but that kit is about $3800...
Old 03-23-2007, 07:39 PM
RodeoFlyer
4th Gear Member

I haven't heard anything nice about SSBC. Next year i'll be running Brembo's, mainly because i can get them for a great price. You really need to be hard on brakes to need a 14 inch kit though. My car gets run HARD at the track every few weeks and i'm getting by with Hawk pads an good fluid. I highly reccomend you get every bit you can out of a modified stock setup before dropping a couple grand on a big kit. If you have the money to spend go with Stoptech.
Old 03-24-2007, 02:09 AM
danam
2nd Gear Member

Cool thanks for the input, I'll definitely go with the Roush kit then. I also spoke to a few people and since I have a Roush too i'll keep it all original. thanks again
Old 03-24-2007, 02:24 AM
Vista_Blue_GT