How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning) - Page 5 - MustangForums.com



2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

     
Old 10-22-2015, 03:52 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Ford Mustang Exterior Guides
Print Wikipost

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2007, 11:28 PM   #41
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Bmr4life

Awesome write up. Luckily my amp has built in speaker line inputs so I didn't have to use the RCA adapter. I'm still trying to figure out how my mount my sub box.
Thanks. I'm still havn't mounted mine permantely yet. It is currently resting upside down up on the incline so I still have a usable trunk. If I get on it too hard, it does shift on me a bit though.
Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 10:16 AM   #42
Bmr4life
5th Gear Member
 
Bmr4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,954
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Problem with my box is it's only around 9 inches deep so it can topple over pretty easily. Here are some pics of what I have finished so far.









I plan on building a box for the passenger side also. I did it this way because I still want to be able to utilize the fold down rear seats.



Bmr4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 02:20 PM   #43
Shard Phoenix
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 345
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

This is exactly how I did mine, and I never had any issues with it.

That being said, Great post!
Shard Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 10:06 PM   #44
luckydawg003
4th Gear Member
 
luckydawg003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,214
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Can you run 2 gauge power wire thru the grommet in the firewall?
luckydawg003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 10:12 PM   #45
8URGTO
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 101
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

kick bu** artical man!!!! I am getting ready to do the same ..... thanks!!!!
8URGTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 10:33 PM   #46
nkx1
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 240
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Awesome writeup Aziraphale, thanks! I am planning on transferring the systemfrom my old car to the stang, and your write up will take out a lot of the guess work for me! I have the Ford dealer repair manual DVD that I was initially planning on using, but that DVD is really annoying to use, and I like all the pictures you provided!

I was only going to suggest one minor alteration to your method:
Insted of cutting the "nipple" on the grommet, I normally just drill/poke a hole in it, and then push the wire through. That way, it's pretty much air/water tight without even having to use tape or other method of sealant. Either way works, I suppose.
nkx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 10:36 PM   #47
nkx1
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 240
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Bmr4life, does that upside down amp mount work well for you?

In all the amp manuals I've ever read, it is always suggested not to mount the amp upside down because it can't adequately cool itself (you know, the whole hot air rising thing).
nkx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 08:26 AM   #48
TPony
6th Gear Member
 
TPony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Aldie, Virginia
Posts: 11,895
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

A fine tutorial!
TPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 08:43 AM   #49
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: luckydawg003

Can you run 2 gauge power wire thru the grommet in the firewall?
Yup, shouldn't be a problem. The gromet is pretty flexible rubber so you should be able to cram a 2 gauge power through there.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 8URGTO

kick bu** artical man!!!! I am getting ready to do the same ..... thanks!!!!
Thanks, it is worth it if it helps someone else!

Quote:
ORIGINAL: nkx1

Awesome writeup Aziraphale, thanks! I am planning on transferring the systemfrom my old car to the stang, and your write up will take out a lot of the guess work for me! I have the Ford dealer repair manual DVD that I was initially planning on using, but that DVD is really annoying to use, and I like all the pictures you provided!

I was only going to suggest one minor alteration to your method:
Insted of cutting the "nipple" on the grommet, I normally just drill/poke a hole in it, and then push the wire through. That way, it's pretty much air/water tight without even having to use tape or other method of sealant. Either way works, I suppose.
That's a good idea. Usually I do that too but the nipple was just there and looked like the correct size so I just sliced it off. If I were doing it again, I'd probably poke it through.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: nkx1

Bmr4life, does that upside down amp mount work well for you?

In all the amp manuals I've ever read, it is always suggested not to mount the amp upside down because it can't adequately cool itself (you know, the whole hot air rising thing).
I gotta agree with the amp manuals here and say that it isn't good to mount them upside down like that. The heat will just radiate back up into the amp rather than disappating like it is supposed to. While the amp may work fine for now, it may have a shortened life span or something.

Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:12 PM   #50
luckydawg003
4th Gear Member
 
luckydawg003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,214
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Nevermind. I just didn't look close enough to see that it still goes thru the fender. So the wire should be ran thru the grommet then into the fender then thru another grommet to the engine battery right?
luckydawg003 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMR Suspension, DSS, Barton and Viking Performance all going in today!! Boostaddict 2.3L Eco-Boost Tech 2 11-24-2015 06:11 AM
Outer shock tower braces guitarman376 Classic Mustangs (Tech) 6 10-11-2015 01:47 AM
Noob needs help! 86 mustang svo motor swapped to 71 5_speed carb 302 v8 jaiidutch Motor Swap Section 2 09-14-2015 10:29 AM
First Mustang 99' 3 differnt body kits installed TimeLord101 New Member Area 3 09-04-2015 09:27 AM
Help! Metra 70-5521 AMP Harness Install cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 2 09-03-2015 08:43 PM


Tags
1000, 1000w, 500, amplifier, amps, california, cord, install, installation, instruction, mustang, place, power, radio, remove, shaker, stock, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.