Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help going to the track tommorw...

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2007, 07:12 PM
mattstang2007
3rd Gear Member

Default Help going to the track tommorw...

and its my very first time. heres what i plan, first take evrything out of the car that i dont need lower the tire pressure to about 32 maybe 30 or so. its a manual so i guess i will try to rev to 2000rpm's and let the clutch out kinda fast. does any one have hints or tips, this is a stupid question i am new to a manual so what is powershifting exactly and should i try it tomorrow? thanks guys wish me luck my goal is 13.6 or 7. and if i do better which i doubt then right on. oh i am completly stock too.
Old 06-29-2007, 08:52 PM
mattstang2007
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Help going to the track tommorw...

no tips huh. oh well tell ya how it goes tomorrow.
Old 06-29-2007, 09:19 PM
05gtdriver
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: mattstang2007

and its my very first time. heres what i plan, first take evrything out of the car that i dont need lower the tire pressure to about 32 maybe 30 or so. its a manual so i guess i will try to rev to 2000rpm's and let the clutch out kinda fast. does any one have hints or tips, this is a stupid question i am new to a manual so what is powershifting exactly and should i try it tomorrow? thanks guys wish me luck my goal is 13.6 or 7. and if i do better which i doubt then right on. oh i am completly stock too.
You might want to increase the tire psi on the front tires to around 40psi and play with the rears, but I'd start at 28psi and possibly lower them even more after the first run. I think 2000rpms is fine, but depending on how sticky your local track is, 2400-2600rpms might help more with your 60ft time.