Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Virginia Emissions Inspection and Tunes

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2007, 02:28 PM
2k05gt
4th Gear Member

Default Virginia Emissions Inspection and Tunes

Got a quick question,
I got a Tune with my JLT II CAI and later added CMDP & 4.10 Gears. well, the Car is now 2 years old and in virginia you need to get an Emissions inspections every 2 years, well I have been trying and with no success. the Report shows the Cats, O2 and Ho2 Sensors Not Ready.
and I was wondering if the Doug, Brent, Fred, Justin Tunes just turn off the O2 sensors to retune the car?

Now I can't go Back to Stock Tune because of the CMDP I will get a CEL. any suggestions or Ideas?

Old 07-18-2007, 02:37 PM
hammeron
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Virginia Emissions Inspection and Tunes

Old 07-18-2007, 02:44 PM
zx9rpilot
2nd Gear Member

Here goes.....I am a Service Manager at the largest non-dealer inspection station in the state. The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality just restructured the emissions program effective 10/1/05.

All vehicles year 1996 and newer are no longer run on a dynomometer to have actual emissions readings taken at the tailpipe. The test is run solely through the car's computer (OBD II). The exception to this is on certain occasions, the emissions computer will require certain 1996 and newer vehicles to run a dyno test.

The car being tested will pass the Virginia Emissions test as long as:

1.The car's MIL/CEL/SES light does not stay on with the engine running.
2.The car's MIL/CEL/SES light comes on with the ignition on/engine off verifying proper operation of the light.
3.The emissions computer can communicate with the car's on board computer.
4.There are no stored fault codes in the car's on board computer.

(MIL = Malfunction Indicator Lamp, CEL = Check Engine Light, SES = Service Engine Soon)