Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A bunch of idiot questions...

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2007, 07:52 PM
whtcanbrwnd04u
5th Gear Member

Default A bunch of idiot questions...

Im new to the whole modding idea, and i like it. Ive learned quite a bit, but not nearly as much as 99.99% of you guys know. It would help if you guys could tell me what the following did, and how much they cost with installtion, or if its an easy task to do by yourself (i have a friend who know alot about cars who can help) .. anyway, here goes...

1) Charge motion delete plates
2) Underdrive Pulleys
3) Speed of sound switch plate
4) 4.10's (i know they increase acceleration lol)
5) IUP

...im sure theres more, but thats all i can remember for now. Thanks guys.
Old 12-03-2007, 08:19 PM
acascianelli
5th Gear Member

Default RE: A bunch of idiot questions...

1) Charge motion delete plates

These are a set of valves in each intake runner that improves fuel economy and low end torque. At low RPMs the valves are close leaving about 1/4 of the intake runner open, at high RPMs the valves open completely. Even when the valves are open they have a small cross-section. Eliminating these valves will give you a few extra horsepower at higher RPMs but will cost you some fuel economy and possible a little low end torque. Delete plates require a tune, so you will need a tuner and a tune or else your car will not run right.

These are pretty easy and straight forward to install. I don't do much work on my car but even I was able to install these without a problem. I was told that these would cost about $150 to install.

2) Underdrive Pulleys