Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not sure 4.10 gears are worth it....

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2008, 06:48 PM
Be Rad 13
1st Gear Member

Default Not sure 4.10 gears are worth it....

So before I post why I don't think 4.10 gears are worth the cost, I think it's important to note that I dofinancial risk management for a living, so this type of analysis is fairlysimilar to the way that I think about how much things actually cost.

I wanted to post this for everyone thinking about getting gears, as I always hear gears are a relatively inexpensive mod that adds a huge bang for the buck. However, this in fact isn't correct, and people thinking about getting gears versus other options really need to think about the true cost.

If you make the following assumptions:
1--you put 8K miles on your mustang a year
2--The cost of the gears is $500
3--Your miles per gallon decreases from 16 to 12 after installing gears (which seems common for going to 4.10s)
4--You own your Mustang for 5 years
5--Assume gas costs $3.25/gallon

If you make the following assumptions, the total cost of installing 4.10 gears is $3200 over 5 years due to the lost milage. You may argue that my assumptions are incorrect, but if you only drive 4K miles per year, the cost would be around $1900. Also, if you assumed you only lost 2 MPG versus 4 (which may be the case if you go to 3.73 gears), the total cost would still be the same around $1900.

I was thinking about getting gears, but now that I think about it, it's really not worth the money. Instead, you could argue that a supercharger is a much better use of your $, as it's a much bigger bang for your buck versus gears, as most SCs won't hurt gas milage. I guess I'm now getting a Supercharger!