Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quick Question About switching to synthetic!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2008, 07:27 AM
lucki96gt
3rd Gear Member

Default Quick Question About switching to synthetic!!

OK my car has about 44k miles and this is my first time doing my own oil change. I have always took my car to the dealer for an oil change becaus eof my warranty. I know its overkill but I just personally feel more comfortable with them having all my schedules maintanace on fill in case something goes wrong with my car/engine. Anyway I went to walmart with my dad to get oil with intentions on switching to synthetic and he said I should switch to synthetic blend first then switch to full synthetic. I am no oil genus so I just said ok and got the motorcraft 5w-20 synthetic blend. with motorcraft filter. And in 3-5k more mile I want to switch to a full synthetic. Is that true should I have switched to a synthetic blend first? And next oil change will I be OK swithing to a full synthetic? Also, and brands you guys think I sould use and which weight, do I stay with 5w-20?
Thanks!!
Old 05-16-2008, 07:33 AM
Margarita Girl
Is the tide gonna reach my chair?

Default RE: Quick Question About switching to synthetic!!

I went straight to full synthetic 5w20 after 5,000 miles.

Keep in mind you need to buy 6 quarts with a filter change.
Check the stick after adding 5 1/2 quarts.
Old 05-16-2008, 08:29 AM
funtimesalways
3rd Gear Member

i thought they came from factory with syn blend or full syn, maybe not?
Old 05-16-2008, 08:46 AM
quik06

ORIGINAL: funtimesalways

i thought they came from factory with syn blend or full syn, maybe not?
I believe you are correct. I would stay with 5w-20 as that's what is recommended in the owner's manual.
Old 05-16-2008, 08:53 AM
cbrstng08
2nd Gear Member