Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are you getting road damage to your hood, fenders and headlamp plastic covers?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2008, 04:53 PM
Daniel60
5th Gear Member

Default Are you getting road damage to your hood, fenders and headlamp plastic covers?

I own a drop dead sexy black Mustang GT and the car shines with no tomorrow but I am

having to paint my hood every other year. My windshield, headlamps, fenders and front

bumper all suffer from paint chips and in some places just freaking holes. I'm a police officer

at a seaport terminal and I don't have a take home car. Our terminal is visited by container

trucks everyday. My ride to work includes the interstate and their is no way to miss the

sand and rocks it includes. I went to the paint shop today not Ford's paint and body and

they said my paint is beautiful that I just suffer from the every day driving. Charleston,

South Carolina doesn't even have knowledge of these 3-m plastic bras'. Does anyone know a

location near this area that could do this type of work?or maybe being where I work and

drive it doesn't make a difference. I have at least four or five thousand dollars in my car and

love her very much but I'm almost thinking of selling her just for the simple fact I can't keep

her in the condition she deserves. I'm writing this as some type of therapy and I love to hear

your nightmare stories if there is any on your paint.

Old 05-20-2008, 04:58 PM
Riptide
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Are you getting road damage to your hood, fenders and headlamp plastic covers?

My car has only 7000 miles on it and it could already use a repaint on the front bumper. I've filled in chips on the hood, tons of them. Windshield has been replaced once already because of rock damage.