Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuel Economy Tune?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2008, 04:22 PM
Pwny
4th Gear Member

Default Fuel Economy Tune?

Well, as the title says, I'm looking for something to save some money at the pump. I was wondering if there was such a thing as an economy tune. Bamachips' website doesn't seem to show anything like it, and Brenspeed hasn't replied to my email.

I could have sworn there was such a thing, but I couldn't locate it via the search function. I guess if all else fails, I'll contact Brenspeed and get an 87 tune for my car, instead of a 93 tune. I was also considering getting a 91 torque tune from Bamachips in the hope that it would get my car moving with less gas. Something I learned from my friends BMW e30.

Any thoughts? I'm also looking for a used econobox as well, but I certainly miss my car (I'm a college student who hates college drivers).
Old 06-20-2008, 04:43 PM
RED121572
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Fuel Economy Tune?

Not to worry, your not the only one on here that is concerned about the price of fuel. I am as well.

About two months ago, I switched out Brents 93 tune with his 87 tune. I now get between20-30 more miles per tank now. Thats pretty much what I got when my car was stock.

Do you have 3.55's in the rear? Have 3.31's installed.

I have 3.73's. If it wasnt for the several hundred dollars worth of labor, Id have the 3.31's put back in.
Old 06-20-2008, 04:46 PM
Gene K
5th Gear Member

VMPTuning.com

BTW In my experience the additional timing they can add to a high octane tune basically pays for the higher cost of the fuel.
So a regular gas tune isnt always cheaper to operate.

The primary gains in fuel mileage are the driver. Light Throttle and Shortshift. You want to catch each next gear at roughly 1000-1200 rpm.