Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is it possible that I have an oil leak?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2008, 12:16 PM
Daniel60
5th Gear Member

Default Is it possible that I have an oil leak?

Today backing my car out of the garage I observed a few oil spots. I called my dealer and they said they would look at it next week. He said it could be nothing or maybe a leaking seal? I'm not a mechanic obviously as you can tell but this scared the $hit out of me. I have 61.000 miles on it. I was wondering maybe it's just where the air conditioner drips water and it took some nasty stuff with it. I don't know. Also I get at the initial start up a puff of blue smoke sometimes. The dealer that I spoke with on the phone said it could be some
"oil blow over", in other words if I get on it and then turn the car off it could be some oil that wasn't past the valves???? Anyway anyone?
Old 07-03-2008, 12:39 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Is it possible that I have an oil leak?

Have you looked for yourself by getting under the car? Have you had the oil changed recently with the potential for some oil that spilled somewhere finding it's way off the chassis or engine block? If it IS a leak, and you're not a DIY'er, simply keep an eye on your oil level until it's checked out.

The puff of smoke is somewhat common to our Stangs, particularly after a short startup, shutdown, then another startup (like pulling the car out of the garage to wash it, then pullling it back in an hour or 4 later). I've had it happen after sitting overnight but it's a rare occurrence but not uncommon. Just happened to me again 2 days ago. Probably about the 10th time or so in over 1 year (but she's not my DD).
Old 07-03-2008, 12:42 PM
Daniel60
5th Gear Member