Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I have an idea for door speaker replacements...need opinions.

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2008, 09:42 AM
thedrod
3rd Gear Member

Default I have an idea for door speaker replacements...need opinions.

After 2.5 years my shaker system is starting to die and I want to replace the speakers and amp. I am no stranger to car-audio but then again I am NOT a pro. So I have two ideas I want to get peoples opinions on.

Idea 1:
Get TWO sets of component speakers for the front doors. One set of 5-1/4 components with tweeters for the 6x8 hole. ...and one 6 1/2 components with tweeters for 8 inch speaker location.

has anybody done this? Would having two sets of tweeters in the car make it sound messy?

Idea 2:
Get two sets of components like above but only use a tweeter from one set of components.
Does disconnecting a tweeter from the included crossover affect anything if just powering the woofer?

I can't find anywhere to just order the single woofer from a component sent. Everyone wants to sell me a 2-way or 3-way speaker. Any ideas??? I have two tens so I really don't want to put an 8 inch in the door again.

Any ideas or opinions you guys could throw out there would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-24-2008, 10:08 AM
CutterWolf
5th Gear Member

Ok, to answer your questions. Yes, having 2 sets of tweeters on your door will not sound great. No, disconnecting a tweeter from the included crossover will not affect anything if just powering the woofer.