Remote starter questions - Page 2 - MustangForums.com


2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2009, 12:21 AM   #11
TheRebel
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 316
Default

On second thought. Some people should be very afraid. BTW, 157 thanks for the electrical connections link. Wish I had had that before.
TheRebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:22 AM   #12
Silver Vert 06
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim From Cleveland View Post
Who did your install and did you have to buy anything extra? Someone I was talking to mentioned I needed some kind of bypass switch to get around the security system.
I have an appointment to get an alarm and remote starter installed on my stang in two weeks. This guy I talked to told me the same thing. He would need to get a bypass module from Ford and it will cost ~$85. I don't even have the active security system either. It's because the keys have a chip in them that the ignition must recognize before it will let the car start.

Definitely avoid Best Buy or any other place like that. Take it to a professional shop that specifically installs alarm systems. Call some dealerships and ask who they send cars to for aftermarket installs. The guy that is installing my alarm is supposedly the best in my area. I had to book an appointment 3 weeks in advance because he is always busy. A few of the local car dealerships even send cars to him for installs. He did an install from my moms car and all of the wiring is completely hidden. It looks 100% factory. Definitely ask around your area and try and find the best place. Wiring on a modern car is not something to mess around with. The last thing you want is a hack job.

Last edited by Silver Vert 06; 01-11-2009 at 03:24 AM.
Silver Vert 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:04 PM   #13
JD57
1st Gear Member
 
JD57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Waterville, OH
Posts: 87
Default

I am getting a remote start installed in about 3 weeks. I wouldn't trust anything but the Ford one installed by my dealer. Yes I have one of the good dealers.
JD57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:26 PM   #14
zporta
5th Gear Member
 
zporta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 2,544
Default

dont go 2 a store like best buy or circuit city they are terrible...there is a shop at the end of my street that does car audio and i see some of there work come in 2 get fixed and it cracks me up...go 2 a car audio and alarm specialist...
zporta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:41 PM   #15
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member
 
stealth_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Pole
Posts: 6,661
Default

stay away from prestige stick to viper..I made the mistake of getting a crappy prestige 2 way autostart, half the time it doesn't even work.
)-:
stealth_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 03:06 PM   #16
fatmat789
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 84
Default

I've got the Viper 5701 alarm... its definately a nice system and the remote looks like a factory keyless entry remote. Only pitfall is that I had to change out the battery in the remote after 4 months
fatmat789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 05:33 PM   #17
wasvette
3rd Gear Member
 
wasvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 595
Default

This link shows which bypass modules will work. IB-F3 is the best for this application. They are not a Ford part. Omega Research (Excalibur alarms, K-9 Security, etc) makes them for Viper and everyone else because they hold the patents. Do NOT do the install yourself unless you've done this professionally.

http://www.bypasskit.com/affiliate/i...19&l=omega&s=W

If you still need system recommendations, let us know.
wasvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 06:11 PM   #18
Mr.Bape
4th Gear Member
 
Mr.Bape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,154
Default

I have an autopage alarm. No problems whatsoever.
Mr.Bape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 12:03 PM   #19
JackNutz
 
JackNutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 17
Default

From everything that I have read and been told, it would be a better idea to go to the Ford dealership for your remote start. Ford will even cover it in the manufacturers warranty in most cases.
JackNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 12:08 PM   #20
deekum1627
6th Gear Member
 
deekum1627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Long Island, moving to arizona soon
Posts: 7,386
Default

i went with compstar alram and remote start it works great its the only one made for a 5spd
deekum1627 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Valve Head questions GimpyHSHS 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 7 06-17-2017 12:18 PM
Win $1500 Worth of RTR Parts - AmericanMuscle AMAlexLazarus AmericanMuscle.com 3 10-02-2015 08:06 AM
Hot Lap: 2015 Roush RS3 Test + Build a Supercharger! - AmericanMuscle.com AMAlexLazarus AmericanMuscle.com 0 10-01-2015 09:21 AM
Hello, new user with an older Mustang and a question treesloth New Member Area 4 09-28-2015 07:03 AM
seems like car doesn't have enough juice to turn over logan409 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 10 09-26-2015 07:43 PM


Tags
07, 1996, 2005, 2007, 2008, find, ford, gt, hook, manufactor, mustang, problems, remote, silververt, start, starter, starters, tool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.