Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Saleen sc diy tips?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 01:34 PM
brad281
4th Gear Member

Default Saleen sc diy tips?

I'm going to see a local speed shop this next week and I'm trying to decide if I can do the install myself or with a tech coming over to my garage and helping me with the harder parts. I'm not a mechanic and I have very limited abilities to what work on a car I can do.

I've been looking over the e force and saleen for a real long time now and I still can't decide. I found a base saleen for 4200 without the sct which I already have. But then again the e force is like 5800 as a complete kit with higher boost potential.
I can't decide? I like the looks of the saleen better, but I think the edelbrock has better power potential. I was quoted at 500 to install the e force. I couldn't get a quote off the saleen.
I am also wondering how much of a difference me going with a 430 rwhp kit would differ from me going all out with an e force and aluminator trying to push 550 rwhp? I mean a high number is great, but what can my auto trans, factory internals, and my factory suspension actually handle? I have read many threads about a sc s197gt beating gt500s quite often due to the traction issues. I would like the most streetable power than I can actually use as a dd with street tires, my auto trans, and my facory internals. I am also trying to stay away from the gt500 fuel system if I can. I mean, on the street with street tires and a dd, is there a huge difference from a 440rwhp saleen sc compared to a 47-500 rwhp e force? That is if I can't get good traction and I need to learn the proper takeoff.

Any opinions guys? I'm looking at 4200 base saleen with jdm tune, and I would later add smaller pulley and possible cai, bigger injectors. I'm trying to stay away from the boost a pump and gt500 fuel system if possible.