Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Check engine after installing jlt cai and tune

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 10:44 AM
kingcaleb

Default Check engine after installing jlt cai and tune

Hey guys i'm new to the forums and need help. I just installed a jlt cai with an 87 street bama tune and now my check engine light is on. It went off when I reloaded the stock tune. I haven't tried my other custom tunes. I'm new to cars and this kind of stuff. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-12-2010, 10:47 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

First check to make sure the CAI is installed correctly with no air leakage, then reload the AM/Bama tune. Contact AM regarding the tune if you get another CEL. Do you have any other mods? Do you have other tunes besides the 87? What happens with those?
Old 10-12-2010, 10:49 AM
Raven27
1st Gear Member

Try a different tune. If that works try the 87 tune again.
If any of them result in the check engine light, see if you can pull the error codes with the tuner and call Bama.
Old 10-12-2010, 11:38 AM
kingcaleb

I haven't tried any other tunes yet. I will after work. I read a review on am's site that said i'm supposed to select the jlt intake, do I? I didn't see where that was an option on the tuner. The only other mod I have are slp loudmouth exhaust.
Old 10-12-2010, 11:44 AM
kingcaleb

I haven't tried any other tunes yet. I will after work. I read a review on am's site that said i'm supposed to select the jlt intake, do I? I didn't see where that was an option on the tuner. The only other mod I have are slp loudmouth exhaust.
Old 10-12-2010, 11:54 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by kingcaleb
I'm a bit confused. You said you have a Bama tune (which means AM). If you bought the combo from AM, then the tunes are written for the JLT and there should not be an intake selection required.