Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car shopping...first mustang...need a few questions answered

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2011, 12:42 AM
lunyou
2nd Gear Member

Default Car shopping...first mustang...need a few questions answered

Newbie here.

Wife wants a mustang, 2005-2009. I need to know a few things.

1) how big a difference, realistically speaking, is there in the drivability between a GT and V6?

2) At what general age(in miles) is everyone seeing before the GT is needing some general age related maintenance? V6?

I'm a Toyota 4wd guy so the Mustang world is Foreign to me(pun intended).
Old 02-08-2011, 02:09 AM
TheDutchTexan
4th Gear Member

1) It is what you want. Personally I hate a open diff on a rear wheel drive car. So it was GT for me from the get go. Gas mileage does not vary that much, and if you can cough up the money for the extra insurance you pay it is GT all the way.

2) Depends, my 05 gets the occasional electrical gremlin (traction control needs checking, yet it works fine, go figure). But other than that nothing. But I had it from new, so whoever had the car first could have been a saint, or a sinner. That impacts reliability of a car.
Old 02-08-2011, 07:06 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

I, too, come from a line of 6 Toyotas; 3 of them T4R 4x4's.

I currently have an '07 GT (mine) and '06 V6 Pony (g/f's). The g/f likes "pretty" and is quite happy with the V6, even after driving my GT with her lead foot. Both are excellent vehicles. It sounds like the choice should be your wife's.

I recommend that you get familiar with the TSB's (Technical Service Bulletins) in the sticky to this main forum. There are a few of the issues that can be a show stopper such as the water leak.