MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   2005-2014 Mustangs (https://mustangforums.com/forum/2005-2014-mustangs-43/)
-   -   Quick Transmission Question (https://mustangforums.com/forum/2005-2014-mustangs/642324-quick-transmission-question.html)

Tanner05 05-19-2011 01:41 PM

Quick Transmission Question

My car is at the dealership suppose to be getting its transmission fixed. It has a really bad problem with going into 3rd and 5th. Anyway they are trying to says its my clutch. Could my clutch be doing this? Everyone that has driven my car has had an issue with those two gears, but has no problem with other gears. Advice please.

Alec 05-19-2011 01:47 PM

Possibly sounds like bad synchro(s) to me but I'm no expert

Tanner05 05-19-2011 01:52 PM

That's what I kept being told. I'm sure that my clutch could stand to be replaced, but I'm almost positive that something else is wrong with the transmission. For 5th gear if you hold in the clutch for a few seconds between 4th and 5th it won't grind, but if you don't it will grind almost every time. I have never dealt with this kind of stuff, so I'm not sure how to make the dealer check it again.

Alec 05-19-2011 01:56 PM

Originally Posted by Tanner05 (Post 7551230)
That's what I kept being told. I'm sure that my clutch could stand to be replaced, but I'm almost positive that something else is wrong with the transmission. For 5th gear if you hold in the clutch for a few seconds between 4th and 5th it won't grind, but if you don't it will grind almost every time. I have never dealt with this kind of stuff, so I'm not sure how to make the dealer check it again.

Yeah if I had to put my money on something it would be a bad 3rd & 5th gear synchro. Don't clutches slip when they start to go bad? Doesn't sound like that to me

Don't you have a warranty through the dealer? Otherwise I'd stay far far away

Tanner05 05-19-2011 02:06 PM