Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Put your thinkin' caps on... I need help...

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 06:17 AM
BigDinTexas
4th Gear Member

Default Put your thinkin' caps on... I need help...

I hey folks... Strange thing happened while driving home last night. I was cruising down the highway at 60mph and all of a sudden the interior map lights came on. Then I realized that the engine had died. I rolled to a safe stop with the hazard lights on.

There were no dummy lights, no sputtering, no nada before this occurred. Flashers work, headlights work, keyless entry works, and trunk release works. When you turn the key to start the car, there is nothing, not even accessory power, e.g. radio, OBDII port diagnostics.

My mods: JLT CAI, BAMA 89R Tune, Pypes Violators. I'm no mechanic, but can do anything with good directions. That's about it.

My car specs: Model year - 2005; 33,700 miles; original spark plugs/COPs/alternator, but 2 yr old Interstate battery.

I tried to see if there were any DTC codes by pulling them with my SCT tuner. It prompts you to turn the key to ON but do not start the engine. I turn the key to on, but the SCT cannot pull anything. The mileage won't even display on the dash with the key at that position and the radio won't work. I can't even roll up the windows.

I checked the SJB and passenger floor board and there was no evidence of water damage. The floor is completely dry. I always check it after rain and car washes as I am always concerned about this.

It seems like there is an ignition fuse that has blown that is preventing the ignition from determining it is turned to the on or start position. There are no obvious indicators where this fuse is or how to check.

Can anyone offer some help? Suggestions? Pointers?

Thanks in advance.
Don
Old 11-10-2011, 09:22 AM
xenocide
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by BigDinTexas