Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 GT is burning up alternators

Old 12-02-2011, 08:18 AM
rob johnson

Default 2006 GT is burning up alternators

Help. 2006 GT is going through alternators about every six months, third one so far. Just replaced last night and engine light is back on and idling a touch lower than usual. Has cold air intake, Diablo chip.
Old 12-02-2011, 08:30 AM
BigDinTexas
4th Gear Member

Dang, that sucks... Ok I'm no mechanic, but there are 3 things I think could cause this. 1) Bad brand of alternators, 2) under drive pulley, or 3) bad battery. This is how my thinking is going...

A) Perhaps the brand of alternator you have been buying is junk. Potentially try a different brand.

B) The alternator is turned and generates power that is output to the rest of the car (output only). The speed of the rotation is dictated by the rpm of the engine and compounded by the crank pulley. An underdrive pulley would affect this rotational speed.
If you do not have an aftermarket pulley on it, then it should be theoretically be turned at the appropriate speed to generate enough output.

C) A bad battery (bad cell) could cause the alternator to fry itself from what I have read here, but this is once again a recollection not based on actual knowledge.

Have you considered any of the above? If so, what did you determine?

Don
Old 12-02-2011, 08:37 AM
rob johnson

Originally Posted by BigDinTexas
Dang, that sucks... Ok I'm no mechanic, but there are 3 things I think could cause this. 1) Bad brand of alternators, 2) under drive pulley, or 3) bad battery. This is how my thinking is going...

A) Perhaps the brand of alternator you have been buying is junk. Potentially try a different brand.