Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why no daytime running lights?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 11:04 AM
ResQman
2nd Gear Member

Up here in the frozen Tundra known as Canada, yes, we have DRL's. Yet, TPMS is not a really big deal. Personally, I believe DRL's have their good and bad sides to them.
As a former Driving instructor, I told every student to turn ON your headlights as it not only is for the headlights but also the tail lights which of course, DRL's don't do.
DRL's give people the false sense that their headlights are on at night. Many times I have seen people driving along with their DRL on but no tail light, no marker lights... Seriously, how can you drive with out dash lighting as well??
IF you want DRL's in your vehicle, I am sure there is a module that you can get at one of your local Auto shops (PEP Boys or Autozone or whatever) and you can install it. Here in Canada, a car imported from another country without DRL's must have the module installed in order for us to be able to register the vehicle.
On the other hand, I am trying to figure out what headlights I can buy that are compatible with DRL's without going through a huge wiring change or removing the plexiglass front of the headlight. Any thoughts?

Happy Motoring!
Old 07-11-2012, 11:15 AM
BigDinTexas
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by xenocide
They started addding them standard on the 2012 model year.
Not necessarily true... I have a 2012 and I DON'T have DRL's... I have the automatic lights, but that is based on the light sensor on the dash.

Don
Old 07-11-2012, 12:08 PM
onederful100
6th Gear Member

I hate DRL. they don't do anything but burn your headlights out quicker.
when its daytime, there's this big light that lights up the earth, its called the sun.
here's an idea: if you want DRL..........turn your lights on!
Old 07-11-2012, 12:12 PM
jsimmonstx
3rd Gear Member