new tune return to stock 1st? - MustangForums.com



2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
mustang_gt808
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
mustang_gt808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: hawaii
Posts: 186
Default new tune return to stock 1st?

so im adding on a new tune because im installing a pypes x pipe to my car i already have a tune in my car so do i have to restore stock tune before i can upload my new tune? or can i just plug in my new tune and upload?
mustang_gt808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
howarmat
s197 Junkie
 
howarmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IN
Posts: 15,955
Default

just to be safe return to stock first.

Is the tuner you are using to install the new tune the same one that loaded the current tune?
howarmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:15 PM   #3
mustang_gt808
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
mustang_gt808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

yes its a bama tune same as my first tune
mustang_gt808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:23 PM   #4
wetwille3
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 199
Default

The instructions say return car to stock, then put on the new tune.

When I put on my new tune, I return the car to stock, put on my mod, then put the new tune on, never starting the car in the entire period.
wetwille3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 06:09 PM   #5
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

... and is it running ok with the new tune???
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:42 PM   #6
moosestang
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 11,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang_gt808 View Post
yes its a bama tune same as my first tune
I never return to stock when loading a different tune using the same tuner.
moosestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:56 PM   #7
danzcool
4th Gear Member
 
danzcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 1,824
Default

^ What he said.
danzcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:58 PM   #8
mustang_gt808
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
mustang_gt808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: hawaii
Posts: 186
Default

ill get it saturday
mustang_gt808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:52 AM   #9
moosestang
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 11,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang_gt808 View Post
ill get it saturday
Just to clarify, when I say the same tuner, I don't mean brenspeed or american muscle. I mean the same physical tuning device like my sct x3. If I were to get a new tune emailed to me from brenspeed, then I would just load it on the x3 and flash the car, not return to stock tune first.
moosestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 07:29 AM   #10
Tommyc
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 123
Default

I've always reloaded the stock tune and always wonder why I'm doing it.
Tommyc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 Mustang Gt Hesistaion mirandaandjimmy 4.6L V8 Technical Discussions 20 11-16-2015 08:51 AM
Did a few mods this summer... drfister 2005-2014 Mustangs 9 09-04-2015 07:47 AM
2013 GT500 GB/BS, 3,700K miles, All options except glass roof, 8yr/36k mile ESP inyadreems Mustangs For Sale 2 08-21-2015 09:10 AM
Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6. 'stangdude 4.6L V8 Technical Discussions 5 08-12-2015 01:27 PM
Off road mid pipe questions BlackShelbyGt500 2005-2014 Mustangs 14 08-10-2015 11:50 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.