Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lowering Springs help

Old 12-25-2013, 03:29 PM
Aero180

Default Lowering Springs help

So I'm looking to lower my 05 GT, but I only want to lower the rear suspension. Would I have to buy anything other than the springs? Also does anyone have any recommendations on what type of springs I can buy. Thank you for the help I am new at this
Old 12-25-2013, 04:27 PM
JimC

I used the Roush rear springs on my 2006, and later swapped for the FRPP springs. The Roush dropped it a little more than I liked.

To install them you will need a spring compressor. You can rent one from AutoZone and similar places, or buy one at Harbor Freight.

I found that the ride was really bouncy until I cut the top off the bump stops.

If you drag race you will want some relocation brackets to level the rear lower control arms again.
Old 12-25-2013, 06:53 PM
Aero180

Originally Posted by JimC
I used the Roush rear springs on my 2006, and later swapped for the FRPP springs. The Roush dropped it a little more than I liked.

To install them you will need a spring compressor. You can rent one from AutoZone and similar places, or buy one at Harbor Freight.

I found that the ride was really bouncy until I cut the top off the bump stops.

If you drag race you will want some relocation brackets to level the rear lower control arms again.
Okay that sounds easy enough, also would I need to buy new shocks or not? Thanks for the help!

Last edited by Aero180; 12-25-2013 at 06:57 PM.
Old 12-25-2013, 08:16 PM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member

You don't need a spring compressor for the rear springs...if you unbolt the shocks and unbolt the brake line brackets, you can drop the axle enough to just pull the springs out.
Old 12-25-2013, 08:48 PM
JimC

Originally Posted by ghunt