Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2007 Mustang GT misfire issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2014, 12:48 PM
Leesee

Exclamation 2007 Mustang GT misfire issues

Hi! I'm hoping someone with experience on here can help me out. I'm not a mechanic or even know a significant amount about cars, but any information I can relay to the mechanic will help me. Sorry for the long thread:

A few months ago, the car started with bogging down on power when I'd try to accelerate. From there, it started dying while driving, and I had to keep jumping the battery to get the car home.

Immediately I assumed alternator, which I had replaced. Still didn't make the car run better. I brought it to a mechanic to find out my camshaft position sensor had BROKEN inside my car, he changed it, but we couldn't find the other piece. That broken piece must have caused the car to jump timing. We re-aligned the timing, and while it is still in place, the car is still having massive amounts of issue.

The car runs rough, doesn't keep a steady idle (anywhere from 500-1100) and dies when I add gas to the car. My MPG went down from 19 to now 13. There are consistent codes for camshaft position sensors, bank 5 7 and 8 misfires, and bank 1 running lean while bank 2 is running rich.

Would this be something that is caused by timing? Or is it a possible fuel issue? We changed the fuel filter, changed all the plugs, checked the coils which are working well, checked the MAF sensor which is running fine, and a few other misc. tasks.

I'm hearing timing issue or fuel pump issue. The car has 117k, and I've had it since 54k. I run it a little hard, but I don't beat on the car, and have everything changed on time (oil, etc.)

Anyone had this happen before?
Old 04-18-2014, 01:02 PM
slickman
5th Gear Member