Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installed MGW shifter tonight

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2014, 12:36 AM
Phil1098

Default Installed MGW shifter tonight

I'm new to this whole Mustang world, I recently purchased a 2006 GT with 2,900 miles on it. I call it my new old car.

I guess the thread title says most of the story. I have read nothing but great things about a MGW shifter. I ordered one from MGW and from the Ford parts bin, a 2008 Bullitt shift **** and required boot. Tonight it all went in the car. One tip if there is anyone left besides me that is still buying an MGW shifter for a 2005-2009 car, put the big stock rubber boot onto the MGW before you put the shifter into the car. It was a pain on the bench, and I have no idea how you could do it once it's in the car.

MGW also has changed part of the install and it isn't in the video on their site or on the disk that comes with the shifter. Now you put a heavy coat of supplied black RTV onto the rear mount ears before raising it up into position. I would guess this is some form of vibration isolation.

The video also says you need to lower the transmission a bit to get the front mount bolt out. Not on an 06, doesn't have the sound insulation blanket. Turns out, you still need to lower the transmission to get the bolt back in because of the size of the MGW front mount. Oh well, didn't add 5 minutes to the job.

A report from the old man: The MGW shifter exceeded all my expectations in all ways, from build quality to shift quality. There is zero NVH and you feel every gear change through the ****, very positive and very precise. This is one of biggest improvements I could have made to the car. The Bullitt parts are nice too, improved the looks of the inside and now I have a proper shift ball too.
Old 07-04-2014, 01:04 AM
Goldenpony
5th Gear Member