Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with lowering and pinion angles.

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2015, 06:08 PM
Lethaldosage423
4th Gear Member

Default Help with lowering and pinion angles.

Some time this year i am going to be pulling the trigger and purchasing the Air ride air bag system from American Muscle.
I was going to get coilovers but the roads here are rough and my driveway has a nasty curb. Air bags just seem like the better option, i can run it at a good height while driving and air up to get into my driveway ect.. I am probably never going to track it. (maybe occasionally at the drag strip but no full tracks)

My concern now is the pinion angle. A few months ago i purchased a Whiteline upper control arm from AM. installed it per the instructions (I'm a mechanic btw) and every time i got on the freeway i had an unbearably annoying whine coming from the diff.

I have the TORSEN 3:73 rear end and I'm told its kind of noisy to begin with. I ended up putting the stock arm back on. Since I've had the car (Brand new) I've always had a faint whine at 70+ mph cruising, it goes away as soon as i step on it. I'm told this is normal for the diff but as soon as i installed the whiteline arm, the noise was much louder and it drove me crazy for the 100 miles i had it on.
i wondered if it was due to the harder bushings causing more noise transfer. but i was always concerned about the pinion angle. I installed it on a drive on lift so the rear axle had the weight of the vehicle on it.

So with the bags ill be getting the pan hard bar to center the axle, lower control arm relocation brackets, and adjustable lower control arms. and id like to put my whiteline uca back on.