Using cruise control buttons for radio volume - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs
Reload this Page >

Using cruise control buttons for radio volume

Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Using cruise control buttons for radio volume

Reply

 
 
 
Old 12-25-2015, 11:35 AM
  #1  
kevsgt
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
kevsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 248
Default Using cruise control buttons for radio volume

I was wondering if it's possible to rewire the cruise control buttons on my factory steering wheel to control my radio volume on my aftermarket head unit. I have a 2006 mustang, and an App Radio 4 head unit. I don't need to maintain the cruise control function, as I never use it. I believe the head unit has extra wires in the harness for this, so how do I tap into the steering wheel controls?
kevsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 12:36 PM
  #2  
edwin108
2nd Gear Member
 
edwin108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 339
Default

I did this in my '05 F150. I used a wiring diagram to find the two wires for the switches and cut them. Then I connected one to ground and the other to a steering wheel control adapter (Pac SWI-PS). The adapter I used works with a Pioneer AVH-X3500BHS; make sure the one you buy is compatible with your head unit.
edwin108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 02:19 PM
  #3  
kevsgt
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
kevsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 248
Default

Originally Posted by edwin108 View Post
I did this in my '05 F150. I used a wiring diagram to find the two wires for the switches and cut them. Then I connected one to ground and the other to a steering wheel control adapter (Pac SWI-PS). The adapter I used works with a Pioneer AVH-X3500BHS; make sure the one you buy is compatible with your head unit.

Where can I find the wirin diagram for the S197 steering wheel, and how do I access the wires? I see that I'd have to get the proper adapter, thanks. So only 1 wire total would go to the adapter??
kevsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 11:37 PM
  #4  
edwin108
2nd Gear Member
 
edwin108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 339
Default

Originally Posted by kevsgt View Post
Where can I find the wirin diagram for the S197 steering wheel, and how do I access the wires? I see that I'd have to get the proper adapter, thanks. So only 1 wire total would go to the adapter??
One wire goes to the adapter and the other goes to ground. You can get the wiring diagrams (and service manual) here: http://iihs.net/fsm/?dir=0.

The speed control diagram shows the two wires as being black and tan with an orange stripe; look for these under the steering column. To verify you have the right wires, you can connect a multimeter across them and check for the resistance to change as you press the different buttons.
edwin108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 12:39 AM
  #5  
kevsgt
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
kevsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 248
Default

Originally Posted by edwin108 View Post
The speed control diagram shows the two wires as being black and tan with an orange stripe; look for these under the steering column. To verify you have the right wires, you can connect a multimeter across them and check for the resistance to change as you press the different buttons.

I don't see any obvious wires exposed under the steering column. Do I need to take parts off to access them? I've searched for related threads that might show pictures but have had no luck.

Also, crutchfield points me to this RFASWC universal control adapter, with buttons that strap to the steering wheel. Since I want to use the CC buttons, I don't think that is the adapter I want, correct? Do I want one of the PAC SWI harnesses?

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_120RFAS...s-Package.html

Last edited by kevsgt; 01-27-2016 at 12:57 AM.
kevsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 09:47 AM
  #6  
edwin108
2nd Gear Member
 
edwin108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 339
Default

Correct, you would want an adapter that uses the existing buttons (like the Pac SWI-PS).

You may have to remove the lower half of the steering column cover or the dash panel in the knee bolster area to see the wires coming off the closkspring.
edwin108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 07:36 PM
  #7  
evillela2001
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 25
Default

If you don't want to cut the harness going to the clock spring, you can use the led connector from a pc computer tower. I used 2 of these on my. I have an appradio 3 with the pac adapter although I installed a boss 302 steering wheel on my 07 GT. That wheel has radio buttons already so I was able to do both.
evillela2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:26 PM
  #8  
kevsgt
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
kevsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 248
Default

Originally Posted by evillela2001 View Post
If you don't want to cut the harness going to the clock spring, you can use the led connector from a pc computer tower. I used 2 of these on my. I have an appradio 3 with the pac adapter although I installed a boss 302 steering wheel on my 07 GT. That wheel has radio buttons already so I was able to do both.
I'm sorry but your comment is confusing. Is the led connector some sort of wire splice connection? And do you recall what pac adapter you got?
kevsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 10:27 AM
  #9  
evillela2001
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 25
Default

This is the adapter I used. It's a metra.
Amazon.com: Metra Axxess ASWC OEM Steering Wheel Control Universal Interface Module: Electronics Amazon.com: Metra Axxess ASWC OEM Steering Wheel Control Universal Interface Module: Electronics

The led motherboard connectors look like this



These connector to the clock spring very easily and are much cheaper than the ford harness. Since you only need one wire from the buttons this 2 point connector should be enough.
evillela2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 03:01 PM
  #10  
kevsgt
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
kevsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 248
Default

Originally Posted by evillela2001 View Post
These connector to the clock spring very easily and are much cheaper than the ford harness. Since you only need one wire from the buttons this 2 point connector should be enough.
Ok I google searched that image, and it appears to be a cable with a 2-Pin IDC header connector on each end. Are you saying that this can connect directly to the clock spring?

According to the wiring diagram, there is a (tan with orange stripe) wire that goes from the clock spring to the PCM. I should remove that, and plug one end of this cable into the clock spring and then the other end to my new head unit adapter?
kevsgt is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Using cruise control buttons for radio volume


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.