Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for V6 exhaust upgrade options

Old 06-10-2018, 01:36 AM
Markeleze

Default Looking for V6 exhaust upgrade options

Hi,

I'm new here, and to be honest I’m fairly new to the Mustang world. I have a stock 2013 V6 convertible that I was hoping to play around with a little until I get my degree and can experiment with a GT.

I’m looking for a small exhaust upgrade. Not something super loud, but maybe something to hear when I have the top down in the mountains or in the morning when I start my car. I’m hoping for a deeper, raspy note if possible. I've looked into a CAI and even an H-pipe as well, but I’m on a budget and frankly I don’t want to mod this car too much as it’s a daily driver and I hope to upgrade over the next few years.

My local muffler shops have suggested the Flowmaster 40 and Magneflow 14”, but others online suggest the Flowmaster super 44 or Pypes Pype-bomb.

I’ll be honest, I know absolutely nothing about modding cars, and being a daily driver, I don’t want to constantly have a lot of drone inside the cab. I’m also in California and from what I understand, that limits my options as well. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Old 06-10-2018, 06:26 AM
Dino Dino Bambino
4th Gear Member

The Borla Touring axlebacks sound like they're exactly what you're looking for:

https://www.americanmuscle.com/borla...ck-1112v6.html
Old 06-10-2018, 07:38 AM
JimC

My favorite set up on my 2006 was the X pipe and Ford GTB mufflers. No drone, nice tone, and relatively inexpensive.
Old 06-10-2018, 10:34 AM
07 Stang
6th Gear Member

I did just what JimC said, Pypes X pipe with GT Mufflers. Very satisfied with the set up.
Old 06-10-2018, 01:27 PM
ucinn
3rd Gear Member