Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

08 Mustang gt oil recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2018, 11:02 AM
DGlass23

Default 08 Mustang gt oil recommendation

I’m new to the mustang forum world so bare with me guys. I recently purchased a 2008 mustang gt, manual with 104,xxx miles. The car came with cat deletes, hot rod racing cams and a 93 octane bama tune. The previous owner knew very little about the car, so Im basically on my own as far as the type of oil, coolant etc. I guess my question is should I use what ford recommends in there manual as far as the oil and coolant or should I be using something different since it is cammed and tuned? Thanks is advance!
Old 06-11-2018, 02:24 PM
08'MustangDude
Banned

Hard to say because it is so heavily modded. Coolant is not the issue though.
Some people switch to a higher grade oil because the motor has more miles on it,
but that's not always a good idea.

I use Castrol Magnetec 5W30 Syn in the winter, and Castrol 0W40 in the summer. Sometimes
the Mobile 1 0W40 is cheaper.

If you are in a hotter climate, summer, 5W40 (non diesel formula) will also be
okay. Your engine is going to run hotter with the mods, so a something W40
in the summer is a better choice.

I see people using Rotella 15W40 in their engines in the summer, but it's a diesel motor
oil, and it's formulated differently. Some gas engines can run fine on it, and some
will not. These are not a good idea to run in the winter though, they're too thick
for winter.
Old 06-11-2018, 08:21 PM
outceltj
5th Gear Member