Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Possible blown engine. Loud knock. Need advice. VIDEOS INCLUDED!

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2019, 01:03 AM
Dan Clark

Question Possible blown engine. Loud knock. Need advice. VIDEOS INCLUDED!

Hey guys, this is my first post in this forum.
I wont write much because my video has the information.
I'm looking for advice on what to do here. The engine sounds like it's about to blow. I trailered it back to my parent's house where it's sitting in the driveway.
I'm considering getting a hoist and pulling the engine and replacing it. I've never done an engine pull before, but first time for everything, right?
The videos I watched on youtube make it seem totally doable.
At this stage I'm looking for advice. How would you proceed given the circumstances?
I'm unemployed for probably another month, so money matters, but I have a lot of time. I can pick up a motor for less than $1k, or I can pull the motor, get a rebuild kit, and bring it down to my uncle and he and I can try and rebuild it. But for the extra couple hundred, is it worth it just to get an already running one?
Looking forward to hearing everyone's thoughts.
Sorry I didn't put it all into one video for you guys.
Part 1

Part 2

The actual knock sound
Old 04-16-2019, 02:11 AM
Dino Dino Bambino
4th Gear Member

You're right that the engine is about to blow 'cause it has the dreaded rod knock. You could tear it down and rebuild it but the cost would be greater than swapping in a decent junkyard engine.
Old 04-16-2019, 08:21 AM
Dan Clark

Dino,
I appreciate your input.
One thing I was considering was just replacing the rod bearings, but I don't think that's a great idea.
I don't want to go through all the work of pulling an engine for the first time, replace bearings, put it back in, and have it last a few more oil changes.