MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   2010-current S197 Appearance Section (https://mustangforums.com/forum/2010-current-s197-appearance-section-132/)
-   -   Seeking Guidance: Tires, Rims and Lowering (https://mustangforums.com/forum/2010-current-s197-appearance-section/649096-seeking-guidance-tires-rims-and-lowering.html)

VEssen 07-30-2011 09:52 AM

Seeking Guidance: Tires, Rims and Lowering

Hello all,

Let me begin by saying: I'm a noob. The extent of my knowledge about cars and mods comes from what I've read here in this forum over the past week. So needless to say, I'm looking for some guidance.

I will want to replace the stock 18" aluminum wheels on my 2012 GT. Appearance of the rims aside, what size is ideal? Do I want larger tires in the rear? Do the rim sizes matter? I want it to look good, but I don't want to detract from the quality of the ride. Smoothness is something that is important to me. I really don't like feeling the bumps in the road. I would also want the car lowered, but don't know the first thing about it.

With all that said, I'd love to hear from all of you as to what you would suggest for tire and rim size, and what to consider when lowering the car, etc.

Thanks in advance.

157dB 07-30-2011 10:29 AM

Keep the same diameter rim and tire sidewall height
and the ride will stay mostly the same.
I dont think that you want staggard fitment.
You really want to keep the revs per mile the same.

Man and I would kill for those 18" rims and you want to get rid of them...
Go figure...

alan0614 07-30-2011 12:14 PM

Can't speak to wheels and tires - still running stock as VEssen. But I just did add the Eibach Pro's and I love them. 1" in the front and 1.5" in the rear. It now looks like it should have from the factory. Ride quality is much better than I expected, very close to stock. The car sits level now and the gap between the wheel and tire is much smaller.

VEssen 07-31-2011 09:07 AM