373's for 2012 V6 - Page 3 - MustangForums.com

Notices
3.7L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about the new engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

373's for 2012 V6

Reply

 
 
 
Old 12-31-2012, 09:03 AM
  #21  
howarmat
s197 Junkie
 
howarmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IN
Posts: 16,047
Default

Settle down folks. No need to get all worked up on a difference of opinion.
howarmat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:04 AM
  #22  
hogasswild
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 720
Default

Most guys are fine who do this mod. There is nothing that says you can't replace the DS, but I don't think it's imminently important. I never noticed any issues on my DS before or after the gear swap. All I can tell you is that there are a number of guys who do the same mod and keep the stock DS.

Like I said earlier, there isn't much else I can do to my car performance wise besides headers and x-pipe (I have a lethal x-pipe in my garage), so I mainly got my DS to help improve acceleration, lose a little weight, and to help support a super charger if I go that route since it can support up to 900hp.
hogasswild is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:40 PM
  #23  
wilkinda
2010 Section Moderator
 
wilkinda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lithia, FL
Posts: 3,321
Default

Originally Posted by Gary Ugarek View Post
I meant the Speed Limiter, it was early when I made the post and just woke up. and as for the OP, his car was a car I owned & traded it for a GT. I know the car pretty well and after having watched videos, heard first hand accounts, and taken the car to the limit, I can guarantee ya he better replace the drive shaft if he plans on pushing that thing past the limiter.

So why don't you sit down and STFU
How about I temporarily suspend you for this type of language. Straighten it up or your out. if you don't like my comment PM me. If you don't like his PM him but you better be civil in my section PERIOD!!
wilkinda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:48 AM
  #24  
Gary Ugarek
4th Gear Member
 
Gary Ugarek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 1,181
Default

Originally Posted by wilkinda View Post
How about I temporarily suspend you for this type of language. Straighten it up or your out. if you don't like my comment PM me. If you don't like his PM him but you better be civil in my section PERIOD!!
PM sent....
Gary Ugarek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:29 PM
  #25  
Bokeo
2nd Gear Member
 
Bokeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 299
Default

You dont NEED to upgrade the driveshaft... before I traded my '11 V6 with 3.73s in. I had close to 34,000 miles on it... all on the stock driveshaft.. and I made more 140 mph runs than I could count. It did vibrate alot at high speed, but never broke.

OP, is yours an AUTO or Manual? I think the Autos are more prone to breakage at high speed but I could be wrong.
Bokeo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:09 PM
  #26  
johngt10
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 346
Default

I've only heard of them breaking on the dyno. My buddy's broke twice and he is the reason a certain company no longer carrys 1 piece aluminum driveshafts anymore for the v6 mustangs. It was rated to handle 600hp and his snapped at 289rwhp lol. He won't dyno it anymore but I'm sure he is close to 300rwhp.
johngt10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:07 PM
  #27  
schram1
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 97
Default

Originally Posted by johngt10 View Post
I've only heard of them breaking on the dyno. My buddy's broke twice and he is the reason a certain company no longer carrys 1 piece aluminum driveshafts anymore for the v6 mustangs. It was rated to handle 600hp and his snapped at 289rwhp lol. He won't dyno it anymore but I'm sure he is close to 300rwhp.

It was probably the shaft master one thats why they dont make them
schram1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:14 PM
  #28  
johngt10
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 346
Default

Originally Posted by schram1 View Post
It was probably the shaft master one thats why they dont make them
Bingo lol. They tried to make it out like he was trying to make them look bad but he was only pointing out the issue and just wanted a replacement. He has a 4" one piece aluminum shaft now. No issues but he's not running it on the dyno either.
johngt10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:13 PM
  #29  
hogasswild
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 720
Default

I contacted the Shaftmaster guy to see why they don't supply them anymore and he said it was due to the lack of availability of the weld yoke. That doesn't make any sense to me since I thought that the weld yokes were pretty common across Ford vehicles. I could be wrong though. I highly doubt the 3.7l uses some unique weld yoke no one can get otherwise no one else would be making shafts for the car.
hogasswild is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:43 PM
  #30  
johngt10
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 346
Default

Just contacted my buddy with the v6. He said contact [email protected] he said they carry them now.
johngt10 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 373's for 2012 V6


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.