MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   351 Mustang (https://mustangforums.com/forum/351-mustang-55/)
-   -   New Guy.. I have questions and would like input! (https://mustangforums.com/forum/351-mustang/385951-new-guy-i-have-questions-and-would-like-input.html)

NoRegrets 12-25-2007 02:14 PM

New Guy.. I have questions and would like input!

I found a 351W for cheap, guy says it's from year 1978.

Some parts I'm looking at, but would like some input on them, maybe some suggestions..

I'm 19, and going to be putting this in a 87 Mustang with a 5 Speed.. Not throwing, because I'm taking my time with this as I'm a college student.
I'm wanting something not of real high power (yet), just looking to build something I can have fun with, learn while building, and when needed, power.
It would probably be taken to the track, a few times a year. Not looking for 500HP, but around 300HP.

COMP Cams Xtreme Energy Cam and Lifter Kit:
Cam/Lifters/Timing, Hydraulic Flat Tappet, Advertised Duration 294/306, Lift .554/.558, Ford, 351W, Kit

Cam Bolt Kit:
ARP Cam Bolt, Pro Series, Black Oxide, 3/ 8 in.-16 Thread, Ford, Small Block, Each

Cam Bearing:
Federal Mogul Babbit Style

Keith Black hypereutectic pistons:
Pistons, Hypereutectic, Flat Top, 4.030 in. Bore, 1/16 in., 1/16 in., 3/16 in. Ring Grooves,Ford,351W,Set of 8

Eagle SIR I-Beam Connecting Rods:
Length Center to Center - 5.956 in.

Rod Bearings:
Not Decided

Connecting Rod Bolts:
ARP High Performance Series Wave-Loc Connecting Rod Bolts

Crankshaft:
Eagle Cast Steel Crankshaft

Cylinder Heads:
World Products Windsor Sr Cylinder Heads (Assembled)

All I have planned for now..

Please give inputs, suggestions, ect.

Aikin9350 12-25-2007 03:01 PM

RE: New Guy.. I have questions and would like input!

Spend a little extra money and get forged pistons

farseek1 12-25-2007 03:27 PM