MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   351 Mustang (https://mustangforums.com/forum/351-mustang-55/)
-   -   What should I expect (https://mustangforums.com/forum/351-mustang/517280-what-should-i-expect.html)

alecracing 02-12-2009 01:01 PM

What should I expect

I am an automotive instructor in Miramar, FL. We just acquired a '95 Mustang with a 351 c.i. engine with Trick Flow heads and intake, Tremec trans, 31 spline rear, 3:73 gears. This car looks like it was put together great but not maintained properly for the past 5 years or more. It still runs strong.

I am going to have the students do a compression test on it before we pull it out to go through it. The car was painted saphire blue but they did not do the engine compartment so I will have the students pull the engine to freshen it up and send the car out to be painted.

Questions:

What kind of horsepower should i expect with short tube headers and 3 inch exhaust?
What kind of gaskets do you guys use? Are the Mr Gasket ultra seals good enough or do I need bigger port gaskets for the Trick Flow heads and intake?

alecracing 02-12-2009 01:20 PM

the guy that sold it to me said it had 30# injectors...is that too big for this engine? The fuel pressure is et @ 40psi.

sn95_331_GT_ yellow 02-12-2009 01:34 PM

look on the Trick Flow website or call tech support for the correct exhaust gasket. as for power, that will depend on the compression ratio and the cam, as well as intake manifold selection. have them pull the heads and look at the pistons (are they flat top or dished?)
shorty headers are really going to hurt power output on a bigger engine. get a good set of longtubes (1 3/4 into 3 inch) for a 79-93 fox bodies. it eliminates the external EGR but thats usually one of the first things removed in a performance build. the 30# injectors will work fine, just make sure you either have a calibrated MAF or a good tune (what id recommend).