351 Mustang

351w Rebuild Masters Needed

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2014, 01:08 PM
Tea Drinker

Default 351w Rebuild Masters Needed

Hi friends, I'm new to the mustang family, just joined the forums... and, actually, don't own a mustang yet. But I will soon!

I know very little about cars and engines, but have been consuming as much as possible and REALLY want to learn the inner-workings of a car. I also want to build a fast, fox-body mustang on a medium budget. From the little research I've done I think I can accomplish BOTH of these by doing the following:

1. Buy a used 351W engine. Take it apart and rebuild. Bore it, stroke it. Add performance parts as needed. I would like to do this slowly, research as I go, and really understand what's going on in the motor. (Fun and educational)

2. Buy a manual transmission. Take it apart and rebuild it. Really have no idea what a good transmission is for the 351W, or the best way to approach. But maybe you guys have some suggestions.

3. Once I have a good working knowledge of the engine and transmission, and both are ready to crank out the HP, I'll find a foxbody body in good condition and drop-in the motor and tranny. Voila!

Here's where I need your help guys. I want to hit at least 450 HP naturally aspirated. In a perfect world I would like the engine to be strong enough to handle a turbo or supercharger IF I decided to add one later in life. This is not a requirement though if it's going to break the bank. I don't plan on taking it to the drag strip every week, but I would like the freedom of taking it there 9-10 times a year without fear of blowing the motor. Also I would like to burn most ricers that challenge me on the street I actually value off-the-line, 0-60 time OVER quarter mile time if that makes any difference in parts/approach. I will most likely drop into a convertible body for summer cruising.

351W Questions:
Is there any particular year I should look for or avoid?
Should I go with EFI or Carb?