Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Cold air intake and exhaust upgrades

Old 03-30-2008, 08:08 AM
joemustmi

Default Cold air intake and exhaust upgrades

I am new to the Mustang world. I have a 2008 V4 4.0L and have read that a cold air intake and muffler upgrade will increase performance, horsepower, and gas mileage. I have an extended bumper to bumper warranty that I do not want to violate. Do Ford dealers have this equipment allowing me to keep my warranty intact? or is it ok to use 3rd party parts?

Thank you for helping a rookie,

Joe
Old 03-30-2008, 09:27 AM
themac5150
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Cold air intake and exhaust upgrades

Ford racing offers the Power Pack for the V6, which consists of the Ford racing CAI and tune. Its covered by warranty if installed by the dealer. There is also a handling pack, which puts Ford racing shocks/struts, springs, sway bars under the car and lowers it. Everything else aftermarket is not covered by your warranty. Aftermarket doesn't void your warranty, but it can cause lots of butt pain if something breaks and they try to blame your aftermarket accessories. You really need to understand the relationship of all the parts, and have a grasp on the mechanics of a car to keep from getting hosed. I have aftermarket sways installed, if my brakes failed, they couldn't blame the sways, they're not related, unless somehow during the installation, I damaged the brake system. If I had installed a line lock system for drag racing, different story....
It also depends on how nice your service department is. Some people report good things about them, others have had bad experiences. It's your decision really. There is no "one" answer to this question, and it gets asked ALL THE TIME.
Old 03-30-2008, 09:34 AM
joemustmi