Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Where is the drain plug of oil pan located?

Old 12-31-2008, 07:10 PM
  #11  
jdphillips73
4th Gear Member
 
jdphillips73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: tennessee
Posts: 1,227
Default

if i couldnt tell what a oil plug looked like on ANY vehicle, i wouldnt trust myself to change it
jdphillips73 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 08:21 PM
  #12  
Mehcoib
Thread Starter
 
Mehcoib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Originally Posted by fazm View Post
13mm bolt.
ok guys, it's done. I used a 13mm wrench, that was perfect. The oil filter was not hard to break loose, the only little thing I am wondering is: in the owner manual it's written that the oil capacity for the V6 is 4.7L (including oil filter). But I added 5L and the oil level is still not at the maximum (it's at 1/2-2/3). Of course I checked, there's no leak!! (and yes, I already started the engine).

With my formers cars I used to fill to top (before the Mustang I never read the owner manuals...!!). Do I have to fill to top or do you think 1/2-2/3 is enough?

TacoBill says "It should read at the upper end of the top hole". I think I'm gonna add a little bit more tomorrow... I'm just surprised that I can add so much oil without reaching the max...
Mehcoib is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:35 PM
  #13  
landon.moss
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ankeny, ia
Posts: 433
Default

after draining your oil, taking the filter off, replacing the plug and filter, add 5 quarts, not 5 liters
landon.moss is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:54 PM
  #14  
Mehcoib
Thread Starter
 
Mehcoib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Originally Posted by landon.moss View Post
after draining your oil, taking the filter off, replacing the plug and filter, add 5 quarts, not 5 liters
I agree, the owner manual says the oil capacity is 5 quarts / 4.7 liters, but even after 5 liters the oil level still doesn't reach the dipstick top mark but only the top of hatch marks... it's no big deal, I was just wondering if you guys usually have to add more than the specs to reach top mark... or if you don't care about the oil level and just add what is required.
Mehcoib is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:45 PM
  #15  
landon.moss
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ankeny, ia
Posts: 433
Default

that doesn't sound right...if you put in 5 quarts, the oil level should be at the full mark on the dipstick...if you were low, your oil light should come on...not sure what to tell you about that, but if you pull the dipstick out, wipe it off, put it back in, then pull it out you should have your oil level and it should say full
landon.moss is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 02:13 AM
  #16  
Mehcoib
Thread Starter
 
Mehcoib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Originally Posted by landon.moss View Post
that doesn't sound right...if you put in 5 quarts, the oil level should be at the full mark on the dipstick...if you were low, your oil light should come on...not sure what to tell you about that, but if you pull the dipstick out, wipe it off, put it back in, then pull it out you should have your oil level and it should say full
Today I added 300mL and now it's almost at top.

Anyway... the engine runs fine, I used my car today without any problem, and I checked the underneat there's no leak. So for me it's ok, next step will be (maybe) changing the ATF for RP!!

Thanks guys for all your advises!
Mehcoib is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 08:23 PM
  #17  
fazm
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: arizona
Posts: 3,893
Default

Originally Posted by landon.moss View Post
that doesn't sound right...if you put in 5 quarts, the oil level should be at the full mark on the dipstick...if you were low, your oil light should come on...not sure what to tell you about that, but if you pull the dipstick out, wipe it off, put it back in, then pull it out you should have your oil level and it should say full

the oil light will only come on with lack of oil pressure. oil level will not make the light come on, unless of course its so low (probably 1-1.5qts in the engine) that it causes low pressure.
fazm is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:20 PM
  #18  
Charlie321
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 435
Default

Originally Posted by 157db View Post
Its on the drivers side of the oil pan on my 07 V6.
Thats odd. I have an 07 pony Package and it's on the passenger side of the oil pan. And yeah, mine's 13mm too.
Charlie321 is offline  
Old 03-28-2015, 08:43 AM
  #19  
techguy
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: nj
Posts: 6
Default black substance

[QUOTE=basketballord;5793520]we have a how-to on oil changes? news to me!

yes the bolt is smaller, not like a 3/4" or anything big like that. if it goes into what looks like your oil pan, give 'er hell

If a black oily substance comes out, you'll know you've found it lolol...
techguy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
2007StangV6
2005-2014 Mustangs
30
01-28-2016 06:09 PM
EASTIDEE123
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
14
09-14-2015 03:52 PM
TfcCDR
V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs
0
09-12-2015 04:13 PM
wilsonro
4 Cylinder NA and Turbo
0
09-11-2015 07:13 AM
mrmrultimate
Texas Regional Chapter
2
09-10-2015 09:43 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Where is the drain plug of oil pan located?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.