Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Brake kit that WON'T break the bank.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 09:45 AM
SilverStallion05
2nd Gear Member

Default Brake kit that WON'T break the bank.

Hey people. My car has 81000+ miles on it. I believe the pads have been changed since the factory 8 miles but not since the 73000 when I got it. They are fine, but the rotors are unsightly (at close view) and the break dust is terrible.

I want to get a break kit (front and rear pad and rotor kit) that are at least a little better than stock (performance), look better than stock, but something under $300 with shipping.

I am NOT a break expert so I would like to see if someone could either set me in the right direction with a recommended set or tell me any pros and cons with the example I found. Thanks!

Example:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Machi...ht_2783wt_1167
Old 03-05-2011, 08:26 PM
Wes_T
1st Gear Member

The eBay kit may be ok, but the price seems toO go to be true for real good brake products.
Many V6 guys will upgrade to GT rotors up front and Hawk performance pads all around. The next step would be Power Slot GT rotors.
Moving to the GT rotors up front will give you a larger rotor than the V6 OEM, the rear is the same size on both cars. You will need the GT caliper holders as well.
New take off has a good package:

http://www.newtakeoff.com/mustang_gt...2005-2009.aspx

Depending on what your doing with the car you may also consider brake line upgradeds too.
Short of these options you'll need at least 18" wheels and a big brake package.

Last edited by Wes_T; 03-05-2011 at 10:12 PM.
Old 03-05-2011, 09:52 PM
SilverStallion05
2nd Gear Member