Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

FUEL LEVEL LOW DTE ODO DATA ERR & CHECK CHARGING SYSTEM

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2018, 01:47 PM
Hussam Khalafallah

Exclamation FUEL LEVEL LOW DTE ODO DATA ERR & CHECK CHARGING SYSTEM

Hello All,

I have a 2005 V6 convertible Mustang, bought it back in 2009 in California when I was a student, brought the car with me to Saudi Arabia, today it has 141K miles.

I've been facing an issue since 3 years back, and stopped using the car for awhile because I couldn't fix it, hopefully you can help me!

I was driving the car 3 years ago to work, all the sudden car doesn't receive speed and gradually dies, tried to start the engine but it didn't, took it to a mechanic and replaced the gas pump under the back seat, I was told earlier that I need to change it and so I thought this would be it, but the car still didn't work, then mechanic removed the catalytic converter under the car, and the engine started and worked fine but this message appeared on the dashboard "FUEL LEVEL LOW DTE ODO DATA ERR & CHECK CHARGING SYSTEM". Mechanic then said we need to change alternator, we did but nothing happened, they checked the underhood fuse box, it had some burns underneath, we changed it, yet the message is still there! I decided to take the car to another shop, they checked it and said computer needs to be replaced, we replaced it and the message was gone for few days and then came back! The shop said we need to change fuel presser sensor inside the tank, but I decided not to do anything till I make sure, I don't want to spend more money on things won't fix the issue.

Current Issues:
  • Message on dashboard: FUEL LEVEL LOW DTE ODO DATA ERR And CHECK CHARGING SYSTEM
  • When message appears AC stops cooling (only hot air comes out), speedometer and oil meter stop working.