4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Why Ford engines not GM

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2006, 10:48 AM
70 MACH I
3rd Gear Member

Default Why Ford engines not GM

Many of you are new to Ford products/engines and have many gripes about displacement, HP, and general engine design. First, I am probably one of the oldest folks in this forum at 50 years old, and have been involved in cars since 14 (owned my first). I have owned easily over 70 vehicles my life. I was a GM dealer training instructor for 8 years, HS automotive instructor 7 years, journeyman Tool and Die Maker ( started learning in Dad's machine shop at 12) and certified Automotive fleet manager. (ran a large utility fleet 7 years). And currently a HS CAD and Design instructor. I have seen and learned many things about vehicles, and have predominantly owned all Ford products, Why? Because they use innovative engineering in their products, I have seen this over and over since I've owned my first Ford at 16. I'm just going to explain a few things about Ford Modular Engines.

First Mod engine, 1992 Panther platform (Crown Vic/Grand Marquis)

Ford standardizes their Bore size at 3.562" The 4.6L is a "sqaure" Bore X Stroke meaning 3.562 X 3.562" , all other Ford mods use this Bore size regardless of displacement, why, because this size has been proven to be best balance of combustion efficiency/power (have you ever seen a 4.6 with an air pump tacked on?)

The block, The 4.6 block has one of the shortest deck heights in the industry making it extremely ridgid, this coupled with CROSS-Bolted Main journals make the main bearing girdle one of the toughest, and most stable designs in a V-8 engine (Ford also did this with their OHC 427 in '67, you know, the one NASCAR banned)