4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Gears

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 03:00 AM
fresnoGT

Default Gears

what exactly do gears do? what else would i need to buy if i bought gears? alot of people say to get them, do they give you alot of horsepower gains? i have an 02 gt 5 speed. i have a k&n intake and flowmasters, thanks
Old 04-17-2006, 03:09 AM
Car_Ramrod
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Gears

research, research, research.

in addition to the purchase of gears you should get an installation kit and something to recalibrate your speedometer for the steeper gears. they dont actually add any horsepower, but they help acceleration a lot and can shave a few tenths off your 1/4.
Old 04-17-2006, 03:11 AM
Flyingmau5
5th Gear Member

u will not gain any more HP than you already have in your car. however to utlize the hp to the maximum ability, the higher gear ratios allows you to accelerate much quicker while maintaining a relatively high RPM setting (higher than the normal RPM setting) when cruising. for example if your stang is in 3rd gear on stock gears, the rpm setting may be at 1600-2000 RPMs while getting higher gears will set to at around 2000-2500 RPMs depending on how you shift.
Old 04-17-2006, 03:30 AM
St4ng07
4th Gear Member

Would I need to get my Speedo recalibrated(sp?) on my 96' GT If I got gears? Could the tuner change that, cause in 2-3 weeks I'm buying package with gears and tuner.
Old 04-17-2006, 04:31 AM
Butters
3rd Gear Member

Yessir. Otherwise your tach is all "omgwtfbbq"
Old 04-17-2006, 12:07 PM
HaV
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: St4ng07

Would I need to get my Speedo recalibrated(sp?) on my 96' GT If I got gears? Could the tuner change that, cause in 2-3 weeks I'm buying package with gears and tuner.

no. no no no. no.