MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-1996-2004-modular-mustang-7/)
-   -   Torque Converter (https://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-1996-2004-modular-mustang/120394-torque-converter.html)

MustangGTftw 04-25-2006 03:06 PM

Torque Converter

Ive read the howstuffworks about it, so i understand the basics of it, but how does getting a torque conversion help performance wise?thanks?

redass02gt 04-25-2006 03:07 PM

RE: Torque Converter

you can launch your auto at a higher rpm with a higher stall. I've seen tests and such where the aftermarket TC has less drivetrain loss than the stock TC as well.

kontroldkhaos 04-25-2006 03:42 PM

i ordered a TCI saturday night special with a 2000 rpm stall,should be here this week..now does that mean my car will not move untill i hit 2000 rpms?sorry if that question seems stupid,but keep in mind im a novice:D but with that and a stage 2 shift kit and a performance rebuild kit will my car move alot quicker ?

stangman2354 04-25-2006 04:34 PM

what is the reccomended stall for a dd. I've heard any where from 2600-3400? What would be best.

justingt 04-25-2006 05:14 PM

ORIGINAL: kontroldkhaos

i ordered a TCI saturday night special with a 2000 rpm stall,should be here this week..now does that mean my car will not move untill i hit 2000 rpms?sorry if that question seems stupid,but keep in mind im a novice:D but with that and a stage 2 shift kit and a performance rebuild kit will my car move alot quicker ?
no it just allows you to launch at that rpm. if you try launching now at 2k rpms you'll spin like crazy depending on your tires but once you install that you can launch at that rpm

Voodoo 04-25-2006 05:21 PM